NAB Show Welcome


Monday, October 11 | 9:00 AM - 10:05 AM




Main Stage
Info Alert

Create or Log in to My Show Planner to see Videos and Resources.




Log in to your planner to join the zoom meeting!


Info Alert

This Session Has Not Started Yet

Be sure to come back after the session starts to have access to session resources.

In his state of the broadcast industry remarks, National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) President and CEO Gordon H. Smith will reflect on his 12 years at the helm of the association and the thriving future of the industry. Following his remarks, Curtis LeGeyt, NAB’s chief operating officer and incoming president and CEO, will share his vision for the organization and how NAB is advocating for policies to ensure broadcasting’s bright future.

Also during this session, NAB will induct award-winning journalist Lester Holt into the NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame. Holt serves as the anchor and managing editor of NBC’s flagship news broadcast “NBC Nightly News with Lester Holt.”

“All Things Considered” (ATC), the flagship news program of NPR, will also be inducted into the NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame. ATC made its debut broadcast 50 years ago on May 3, 1971, airing on 90 public radio stations. Now broadcasting live every weekday for two hours and for one hour every Saturday and Sunday, ATC is the most listened-to, afternoon drive-time news radio program in the country. 

Additionally, the recipients of the 2020 and 2021 Digital Leadership Awards will be recognized for their significant role in transforming traditional broadcast businesses to succeed on digital media platforms. 

The 2020 and 2021 Engineering Achievement Award recipients will also be honored for their outstanding accomplishments in the broadcast industry. 


Ailsa Chang
Host, All Things Considered & Inductee, NAB Radio Hall of Fame
J.D. Crowley
Chief Digital Officer & 2020 Digital Leadership Award Winner
Brady W. Dreasler
Director of NextGen TV and Regional Chief Engineer & 2021 Service to Broadcast Engineering Award Winner
Quincy Media, Inc.
David A. Folsom
CTO & 2021 TV Engineering Achievement Award Winner
David L. Hershberger
Senior Scientist, Retired & 2021 Radio Engineering Achievement Award Winner
Continental Electronics Corporation
Lester Holt
Anchor and Managing Editor, "NBC Nightly News with Lester Holt" & Inductee, NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame
Jim T. Stenberg
Principal Broadcast RF Engineer & 2020 Television Engineering Award Winner
American Tower Corporation
Carla Tallo
Executive Producer, All Things Considered & Inductee, NAB Radio Hall of Fame
Jeff Welton, CBRE
Regional Sales Manager & 2020 Radio Engineering Achievement Award Winner
Adam Wiener
Executive Vice President and General Manager & 2021 Digital Leadership Award Winner
CBS Local Digital Media | ViacomCBS


Curtis LeGeyt
Chief Operating Officer
National Association of Broadcasters
Gordon Smith
President and CEO
National Association of Broadcasters

Session Type:
Award Ceremony
Show Highlights:
Session Type:
Hybrid Session
Education Partner:
Industry Affairs
Session Type: